South-African National Antarctic Programme
Home > Stations


It is less than 200 years ago since the first person set foot on Antarctica. Since then, a slow but steady stream of explorers and scientists, including several thousand South Africans, have been working on and studying the world's coldest continent, as well as the surrounding Southern Ocean and islands. the region is harsh, desolate and extreme, but also fragile and vulnerable. Much of the proudly South African effort here is aimed at protecting this delicate wilderness.
SANAE (Antarctica).....

During the first South African National Antarctic Expedition (SANAE) in 1959/60, the South Africans took over the evacuated Norwegian base in the Dronning Maud Land region of Antarctica (some 4000km south of Cape Town). The bases on the edge of the ice shelf were replaced at various intervals, until the South African base moved inland and the current SANAE IV was built on Vesleskarvet - a nunatak or dark rocky outcrop peeping out of the white snow.

Sanae IV base - Antarctica

Marion Island base

Marion Island.....

South Africa maintains a base on Marion Island in the Southern Indian Ocean just over 2000km southeast of Cape Town. Marion Island and Prince Edward Island, twin peaks of a volcano, form the Prince Edward Island group. The islands were annexed by South Africa in 1947. South Africa has announced its intention to proclaim a major marine protected area around the Prince Edward Islands. This will be one of the largest areas of its kind in the world and will be patrolled by the 83 metre environmental protection vessel, the Sarah Baartman.

Gough Island.....

Gough Island is a British protectorate in the South Atlantic Ocean and is largely uninhabited, except for the people at the South African meteorological station, which operates as part of an agreement between south Africa and the United Kingdom

Gough Island base