Historical vessels departing from South Africa

Historical Vessels departing from South Africa

Cape Town is one of the five Antarctic gateway cities from which ships and aircraft travel to and from various parts of Antarctica and the sub-Antarctic islands.

To read more about these historical vessels go to www.antarcticlegacy.org/archive

  • Cook’s Resolution (1772),
  • Bellingshausen’s Vostok and Mirny (1821),
  • Ross’ Terror and Erebus (1840),
  • Challenger (1873),
  • Amundsen’s Fram (1910),
  • Scott’s Terra Nova (1910),
  • Shackleton’s Endurance (1915),

Comments are closed.