Photo Credits.



Images used on the website were taken and supplied by various talented photographers that have been involved over the years in the South African National Antarctic Programme. Several images of the Department of Environmental Affairs from the previous SANAP portal were incorporated in the new portal. Most of the images are available on the Antarctic Legacy of South Africa archive. All these images are protected by the copyright statement of The Antarctic Legacy of South Africa Project.

Statement: The items and the content of this website are subject to copyright protection. Reproduction of the content or any part of it, other than for research, academic or non-commercial use is prohibited without prior consent from the copyright holder.

This is also a great opportunity to thank everyone who contributed their talents and encourage those involved to become part of the Legacy.

Marthán Bester Niel Malan
Chris de Weerdt James Matthee
Adriaan Dreyer Tom McSherry
Ken Findley Clinton Saunders
Christel Hansen Eduan Teich
Oliver Hansen Phillip van Coller
William Jelbert Frikkie van der Vyver
Julius Kettle Ben van der Walt
Anché Louw Alta Zietsman
TEL: +27 (0)21 405 9400
Physical Address

East Pier Shed, East Pier Lane,
V&A Waterfront, Cape Town,
South Africa

Follow Antarctic Legacy of South Africa
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed for this account. New posts will not be retrieved.

There may be an issue with the Instagram Access Token that you are using. Your server might also be unable to connect to Instagram at this time.

© South African National Antarctic Programme • Managed and administered by Antarctic Legacy of South Africa • Photo Credits

Visit the South African Government's COVID-19 Information page at