2021-2020 Marion Island Applications Open

Applications now open for Marion Island 2021-2022 season. Visit the Jobs page to see vacancies....

SURVEY: Impacts of COVID-19 on Antarctic Research

The SCAR-Executive approved support for work to be undertaken by the Standing Committee on the...

September Saturday Student: Heather Forrer

Heather Forrer completed her undergraduate BSc degree at the University of Cape Town (UCT) in...

September Friday Freelancer – Mariëtte Wheeler

Mariëtte Wheeler – regular freelancer for Antarctic Legacy of South Africa was born and bred a...

GOUGH 66 departed for Gough Island on 19 September 2020.

Gough Island is located at 40°S, 9°W – 2600 km from East Pier, Cape Town Harbour. (Image above by...

DEFF: International Series to be filmed on Marion Island

Department of Environment Forestry and Fisheries Media Release: International wildlife documentary...

DEFF: SA Agulhas II will depart for Gough Island under strict health protocols

Department of Environment Forestry and Fisheries : Media Statement - 15 September 2020 : SA...

Sunday Science: Rethinking the Antarctic Gateways

Antarctic cities and the global commons: Rethinking the Gateways – project by Institute for...

Saturday Student: Rudzani Silima

Rudzani Silima (Rudzi) have from a young age, always known that she would pursue a career in...

Friday Freelancer: Sandra Durand

A friend of mine once told me that I am a borne civil servant, and it turns out she was right....

Live more

Vessels & Stations.


The first South African National Antarctic Expedition (SANAE) departed in 1959.

Gough Island

South Africa has been operating a weather station on Gough Island since 1956.

Marion Island

The Marion base is used mainly for environmental/biological research, and weather data collection.

S.A. Agulhas II

S.A. Agulhas II is a South African ice breaking polar supply and research ship owned by the DEA.


Take a Tour

Explore more

Expeditions &

Voyages to Antarctica, Marion Island and Gough Island take place annually to replenish supplies and exchange personnel.

Team Structure.


The Voyage.

Living at the Station.

Locations of Operations.

Cape Town Gough Island Marion Island SANAE IV

Learn more


The South African National Antarctic Programme (SANAP) consists of three stations, countless research projects, and a history of dedicated team members.

Team Photos.




Team Photos.

Browse our team photo libraries for SANAE, Marion Island and Gough Island.


As a biodiversity hotspot, scientific activities in Antarctica, the islands and the Southern Ocean have never been more exciting.


The latest newsletters from SANAE, Marion Island and Gough Island. 


The South African National Antarctic Programme (SANAP) manages three stations.

What’s happening

Latest News.

Experience more


Do more




See more


Visit the South African Government's COVID-19 Information page at sacoronavirus.co.za