Antarctica Day 2021

Antarctica Day 2021

Today, 62 years ago, 12 countries (including South Africa) signed the Antarctic Treaty. On the 1st of December 1959, Antarctica was set aside for peaceful and scientific purposes. This day is celebrated all over the world. Join the Scientific Committee on Antarctic...



© South African National Antarctic Programme • Managed and administered by Antarctic Legacy of South Africa • Photo Credits