The 75th Marion Island Overwintering team departed on 06 April 2018 (click here to read more) and returned to Cape Town on the 15th of May 2019 (VIDEO).

Click on the link below and view their official team photo among the previous Marion Island overwintering teams.

Also visit the Antarctic Legacy of South Africa Archive to view the team photo or team logo.

MARION 79 (2022-2023): (L-R) Top row: Banele Dosi (MIMMP Sealer), Samuel Peta (O & C Birder – DFFE), Sanele Action Mkhize (Diesel Mechanic), Siphesihle Faltein (Assistant Meteorological Technician – SAWS), Lucy Smyth (MAPRU/NMU Birder), Michael Ross (MIMMP Sealer); (Middle row) Monica Leitner (MIMMP Killer whaler/Sealer), Mndeni ‘Amani’ Hlatshwayo (Medical Orderly), Thendo Sikhwari (Senior Meteorological Technician – SAWS), Andile Ace Mdluli (O & C Birder – DFFE), Gladys Kemei (Communications Engineer and Deputy Team Leader), Tankiso H. Moso (SANSA Electronics Engineer and Science Team Leader), Ntlangemhlophe Sanele Sukude Nombekela (Chef), Mishumo Masithembi (Environmental Control Officer); (Bottom row) Gcobani Tshangana (Assistant Environmental Control Officer), Austin Acro Gumba (UKZN Astrophysicist), Tanganedzani Tshitavhe (Assistant Meteorological Technician – SAWS), Tshimangadzo Jufter Munyai (Base Engineer and Team Leader), Elsa van Ginkel (MFM Ecologist). Insert (left): Abuyiselwe Nguna (Geomorphologist); Insert (right): Vhuawelo Simba (MFM Ecologist).

Image 1 of 75

MARION 79 (2022-2023)

Anché Louw, Antarctic Legacy of South Africa, 06 June 2019.

© South African National Antarctic Programme • Managed and administered by Antarctic Legacy of South Africa • Photo Credits
Share This