The South African Environmental Observation Network (SAEON) is a business unit of the National Research Foundation (NRF).

NRF SAEON celebrated its 21st anniversary on 7 September 2023. See the event programme below. 

It is inspiring to see what SAEON has achieved over 21 years. “SAEON encompasses seven Research Nodes throughout South Africa and a National Office that is located in the country’s political capital of Pretoria” (Read more about the nodes here). 

SAEON manages three research infrastructures developed by the Department of Science and Innovation (DSI) as part of the South African Research Infrastructure Roadmap (SARIR). The South African Polar Research Infrastructure (SAPRI) is one of the three research infrastructures, and was established in 2021 (see the SAPRI timeline here). The SAPRI hub is located in the SAEON Egagasini Node offices in Cape Town. 

SAPRI and SAEON Egagasini Node (1)

The SAEON Egagasini Node and SAPRI team at the NRF SAEON 21st Anniversary. Video: click on the image.


Anche Louw, South African Polar Research Infrastructure, 09 September 2023

© South African National Antarctic Programme • Managed and administered by Antarctic Legacy of South Africa • Photo Credits
Share This